Knitting my social network apps together

A bit of navel gazing…

I’ve been a fairly cautious user of social networking tools, but despite that, I have now accumulated WordPress (obviously), Twitter and Delicious accounts (as well as the Facebook account that I prefer to use for bits of my personal life, though work has seeped in there too).

I create messages and content using all four services, but often I want the content to feed from one to the other. I’ve been playing around with connecting them over the last year or so, particularly since adding Twitter into the mix.

This is how it’s looking right now:

SNA Knitting

Notes:

  1. The biggest pain (and challenge) is the impossibility of automatically getting Delicious bookmarks into WordPress as draft posts. Delicious does support auto-posting, but they always come through as published posts with the useless title ‘links for dd-mm-yyyy’. So I have to remember to delete anything that’s not relevant (leading to a broken link for anyone who follows the blog on RSS), and quickly edit and title anything that is.
  2. I’ve tried to keep intermediary applications out of it as much as possible, but Delicious’s posting to twitter is so bad (being just a shorted link like http://icio.us/42p2lc) that I had to resort to Twitterfeed which picks up the link title too.
  3. As far as I know, there’s no autofeed from WordPress to Delicious, and anyway, I’d want to tag up the link before it went live. I’m a neurotic tagger.

Delicious does seem to the weak spot in the network, but at 1757 bookmarks and counting, I’m too committed to think of moving. I am getting to the stage though where I think I’ll have to turn Delicious’s auto-posting off, useful though it has been in prompting me to blog. Maybe the lower volume will be appreciated…

Outside of this little network, I do use Google Reader for tracking other peoples’ blogs, and I feed my WordPress stories into LinkedIn, but that doesn’t really seem to count.

Finally, have a look at this posting by Balau for a fully grown version of what I’ve done, which is what prompted this posting in the first place, along with my own need to visualise my information flows:

About Peter Cruickshank

Lecturer in the School of Computing and Research Fellow in the Centre for Social Informatics at Edinburgh Napier University, Scotland. Interested in information management, politics, society, ICT, security and where they intersect. My attempts at rounding out my character include food, cinema, running, history and together with my lovely wife bringing up a boy and cat.
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

