PEP-NET Summit: My ECI/petitioning presentation

Downlad PDF of ECI flows here

Here’s a copy of the presentation I gave in my corner at the PEP-NET summit today, and a PDF of the flowchart I draw from the draft ECI Regulation.

I spoke about EuroPetition and the ECI as systems for supporting trans-european campaigns, starting from the observation that we Europeans speak many languages, but European decision makers would benefit from there being a common dialog.

Currently, I guess the key ECI-type points I’m curious to explore are:

  • ECI campaigns
    • Will they be reserved to the big lobbying organisations?
    • What set up will support the ‘little people’
  • ECI systems providers
    • What is meant by ‘system’? (I believe it is the service provided by an organisation)
    • What process can certify it?
  • Clustering & Translations
    • There’s a role for national/ regional clusters along the line of the one being piloted by EuroPetition
    • Wordings will appear on official ECI website, so can the Commission avaoid responsibility for them?
  • e-ECI should be seen as an online service
    • Allowing third parties to share, compare and campaign across systems
    • standards for recording and sharing details of ECIs

It got a few interesting questions from the audience – I hope it contributes to the debate when it comes to making the ECI work

Anyway, you can download the PDF here:

About Peter Cruickshank

Lecturer in the School of Computing and a member of the Centre for Social Informatics at Edinburgh Napier University, Scotland. Interested in information systems, learning, politics, society, security and where they intersect. My attempts at rounding out my character include food, cinema, running, history and, together with my lovely wife, bringing up a cat and a couple of kids.
This entry was posted in e-participation, Europe, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

